Was it worth it?

I have been thinking lately about the price of college ever since I read one of Seth Godin’s posts on his blog titled We Accidentally Marketed Ourselves Into a Corner. The beginning of the post really puts the whole college game into question.I feel like I have been asked numerous times already, “Was it worth it?” Of course those who ask are referring to the outrageous price of my tuition and the loans I took on. My answer is always, “yes, it was.” Looking back on those years is an enjoyable experience. I have wonderful memories and made life long friends. I don’t regret how I studied, and I am proud of the effort I put in. But best of all, I am actually doing what I studied. I don’t think many people can say this, unless they studied something so specific. A business degree however can launch you into so many different fields. I can’t begin to count how many fellow Marketing majors went off to do telesales or something like that. I love my job and I feel fulfilled each day. So yes, it was worth it, debt and all.This advice is mostly for those like my little sister, who is currently questioning the value of higher education. Go to a school you like, choose a career you can picture yourself in, and one that will make you happy. Don’t worry about money, it works itself out. I am sure that there are many out there who would disagree. Godin mainly discussed how the top 500 or the top 50 school don’t matter as much as we all think they do. I can attest to this. I went to the school I wanted to go to. I didn’t care too much about the stats, and I am fine, right where I want to be.

One thought on “Was it worth it?

  1. The value of an college education $**,000. The value of doing what you love in life and getting paid to do it….priceless! I always said follow your dreams, don’t worry about the money, it always works out somehow. I’m glad, I agree it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

