Patriotic much?

I don’t think that I am the only one who is much more interested in political & economic issues this year, vs previous years. Everyday I run into little reminders that show me how much this world is changing. At first it was just the gas prices that frustrated me. $50 to fill up!? Are you kidding? Now it is more like $66, and on top of that, my groceries have gone up by a noticeable 15%.

I am learning to scrimp, save, look for better ways to spend my money, but it just hitting me at a bad time. I have finally started my career. I am learning, growing, and expanding my skills with every new day. However, when I come home, I still am living like I am in college. I don’t think I will ever get to a point when I can say “oh who cares, I can buy dinner for everyone.” But I would like to get to a place when I don’t have to say “I’ll meet you guys the next time you go out.” I think that all I need to do is get a step ahead. But that is easier said than done. When I am listening to npr on my way to work, I usually hear stories of how the housing crisis is horrible, or how student loan interest rates are going through the roof. How do I get a step ahead of that? Impossible, at the moment. There are so many out there like myself that are taught by the media to sweat the small stuff. We can’t just forget about today’s little problems, we are now already dreading tomorrow’s challenges. I am not saying that we can not plan ahead and work together to prevent the horrors that we face; I am simply saying that current problems of the world are consuming us in every aspect of our lives.

All this being said, there is a little ounce of hope. I believed it started with the election. I hope it feels how a new school year felt, a fresh start. No more worries. Though the US has its permanent record that follows, we will have a new leader, and chance for an ounce of redemption. And it wasn’t just the election… the Olympics gave the US another opportunity to stand up and be proud of who we are. Watching the faces of all the Olympians was truly inspiring. We are truly a diverse country. The US has Blacks, Whites, Hispanics, Asians, and as many mixes and you can create. I was proud to be part of such a nation that sends such fine athletes. Yes, Michael Phelps was amazing. His performance was unlike anything ever seen. These Olympics provided the best escape from the problems that face us. Hope was given to the US, but now it is vanishing from the headlines. I hope that our fresh start can carry on the feelings and passion that the Olympics gave to America. Our new President should not divide us, but unite us. We all need to get a step ahead, and look forward to a future.

One thought on “Patriotic much?

Leave a Reply

